MODAL (Tugas Softskill B. Inggris Bisnis 2)

MODAL

 1.    Can

S + Can + Verb

S + Can + Not + Verb

Can + S + Verb

Example :

–          They can speak English

They can not speak English

Can they speak English?

–          My younger sister can walk on the floor

My younger sister can not walk on the floor

Can my younger sister walk on the floor?

–          You can buy anything with your money

You can not buy anything with your money

Can you buy anything with your money?

–          They can control their own budgets

They can not control their own budgets

Can they control their own budgets?

–          I can smoke here

I can not smoke here

Can I smoke here?

 

2.    May

S + May + Verb

S + May + Not + Verb

May + S + Verb

Example :

–          China may become a major economic power

China may not become a major economic power

May China become a major economic power?

–          They may take this pen

They may not take this pen

May they take this pen?

–          I may come tomorrow if I have time

I may not come tomorrow if I have time

May I come tomorrow if I have time?

–          We may be buying a new house

We may not be buying a new house

May we be buying a new house?

–          It may rain tomorrow

It may not rain tomorrow

May it rain tomorrow?

 

3.    Must

S + May + Verb

S + May + Not + Verb

May + S + Verb

Example :

–          I must wake up early

I must not wake up early

Must I wake up early?

–          You must do it at once

You must not do it at once

Must you do it at once?

–          He must be here by nine o’clock

He must not be here by nine o’clock

Must he be here by nine o’clock

–          We must say good-bye now

We must not say good-bye now

Must we say good-bye now?

–          They must walk to school

They must not walk to school

Must they walk to school?

 

4.    Might

S + Might + Verb

S + Might + Not + Verb

Might + S + Verb

Example :

–          They might take this pen

They might not take this pen

Might they take this pen?

–          We might go to the market

We might not go to the market

Might we go to the market?

–          Mother might cook soup today

Mother might not cook soup today

Might mother cook soup today?

–          I might be sick today

I might not be sick today

Might I be sick today?

–          I might see you again

I might not see you again

Might I see you again?

 

5.    Should

S + Should + Verb

S + Should + Not + Verb

Should + S + Verb

Example :

–          You should treatment the dentist

You should not treatment the dentist

Should you treatment the dentist?

–          I should wash my clothes

I should not wash my clothes

Should I wash my clothes?

–          We should sort out this problem at once

We should not sort out this problem at once

Should we sort out this problem at once?

–          He should go to the doctor

He should not go to the doctor

Should he go to the doctor?

–          I should stay up late

I should not stay up late

Should I stay up late?

 

6.    Would

S + Would + Verb

S + Would + Not + Verb

Would + S + Verb

Example :

–          You would please pass the salt

You would not please pass the salt

Would you please pass the salt?

–          You would mild waiting a moment

You would not mild waiting a moment

Would you mild waiting a moment?

–          I would pass the book

I would not pass the book

Would I pass the book?

–          He would help me

He would not help me

Would he help me?

–          We would like to play golf

We would not like to play golf

Would we like to play golf?

 

7.    Although

example :

–          he walks to school although he has a bike

–          she has cat although she does not like it

–          I will go to hospital although I am not sick

 

8.    Had Better

S + Had Better + Verb

S + Had Better + Not + Verb

Had Better + S + Verb

Example :

–          I had better watch TV

I had better not watch TV

Had better I watch TV?

–          You had better tell her everything

You had better not tell her everything

Had better you tell her everything

–          I had better get back to work

I had better not get back to work

Had better I get back to work?

–          You had better say anything

You had better not say anything

Had better you say anything?

–          We had better meet early

We had better not meet early

Had better we meet early?

 

9.    Have to

S + Have to + Verb

S + do / does + Not + Have to + verb

Do / Does + S + Have to + Verb

Example :

–          You have to come with us

You don’t have to come with us

Do you have to come with us?

–          We have to go out to night

We don’t have to go out to night

Do we have to go out to night?

–          I have to go home now

I don’t have to go home now

Do I have to go home now?

–          They have to finish this before by one o’clock

They don’t have to finish this before by one o’clock

Do they have to finish this before by one o’clock

–          We have to leave today

We don’t have to leave today

Do we have to leave today?

 

10.                       Would Rather

Subject + would rather + infinitive…….than……..

Example :

–          I would rather play football than badminton

What would you rather play football or badminton?

–          She would rather speak Indonesian than English

What would she rather speak Indonesian or English?

–          We would rather watch TV than go to school

What would we rather watch TV or go to school?

–          He would rather study mathematics than English

What would he rather study mathematics or English?

 

11.                       Would Prefer

Subject + would prefer + to +infinitive………rather than……

Example :

–          I would prefer to play football rather than Badminton

What would you prefer to play, football or badminton?

–          She would prefer to speak English rather than Spanish

What would she prefer to speak,English or Spanish?

–          Students would prefer to study English rather than mathematics

What would students prefer to study, mathematics or English?

–          He would prefer to watch TV rather than go to school

What would he prefer to watch TV or go to school?

Leave a Reply

